Minutes of the Campus Faculty Meeting
December 6, 2005, 3:30 p.m.
Giffels Auditorium

Charles Riggs , Chair
Larry Foley, Acting Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved

I. Call to Order:

Charles Riggs, Campus Faculty Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:35 p.m.

II. Approval of the Agenda

Without objection, the agenda was approved.

III. Minutes of the Spring 2005 Meeting


Without objection, the minutes of the Spring 2005 meeting were approved.

IV. Reports

    1. Bob Smith, Provost, welcomed faculty to meeting.  He thanked Chairman Riggs and Campus Faculty in attendance.  He said these meetings are important to chancellor, provost, deans, and faculty members.  He thanked faculty for input and guidance on important issues facing the U of A

    2. Richard Hudson, Vice Chancellor for Government Relations, discussed the importance of a special election on December 13, 2005, dealing with highway bonds and higher education bonds.  Hudson said the college bond issue, if approved, would allow for the expenditure of $16 million financing construction of a center for nanotechnology on the UAF campus.  Hudson said if approved, the issue of the bonds would not cause a tax increase, but would allow for higher education funding for at least another ten years. (NOTE: The highway bond issue and the higher education bond issue were both defeated by voters on December 13.)

    3. Johnetta C. Brazzell, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, made a presentation on the “University of Arkansas Experience,” a plan—in development—“Creating an Intentional Learning/Retention Process.”  Dr. Brazzell said this effort began in 1999 with the First Year Experience. She said a few years back, “we started talking about the next step—a second year experience.”  According to Brazzell, “this is the basis for conversations of an integrated approach.”  Current U of A Experience Committee Members include:

    Johnetta Cross Brazzell, Sue Borrego, Terry Bumgardner, Peter Chu, Taj Cobbs, Carmen Coustaut, Jerri Dwyer, Brian Johnson, Florence Johnson, Sherry Mallory, Andy Mauk, Joe Seabrooks, Gigi Secuban, Mary Alice Serafini, Scott Walter

    Where do we go from here? Conversation with the provost, conversation with the executive committee, conversation with the deans, formation of a campus-wide committee.

    Dr. Brazzell concluded by saying, “I don’t have any answers—we’re still searching….We must work together to find answers.”

    4. Chairman Riggs introduced Bob McMath, new dean of the Honors College.  The following is an outline of Dr. McMath’s presentation:

    Founded in 2002, the honors college in an integrated teaching and learning experience across academic disciplines.  “The honors program is for elite students, but we must avoid becoming ‘elitist’ in our programs. 

    What the new kid sees - Great students, grass roots, faculty support, strong honors staff, well thought-out programs, can-do attitude, Walton financial gift

    McMath said, “The rapid growth in the honors enrollment is stressing the system".

    Lack of resources and recognition for participating faculty are threatening our success.

    McMath:  “We have exceeded our 2010 goal for honors enrollment.  There are now 2,014 students in Honors College.  There has been a 50% increase in the number of national merit scholars attending the U of A since 2002.

    Four Big Issues

    Recognition and support of honors faculty

    Participation of faculty who hold Walton funded chairs and professorships

    Integrating honors experiences across departments and colleges

    Expanding capstone experiences beyond the thesis option

V. Old Business


VI. New Business


VII. Adjourn

Chairman Riggs adjourned the meeting and reminded faculty of annual holiday reception on December 8 at Fayetteville Towne Center.