Minutes of the Faculty Senate Meeting
September 15 , 2004, 3:30 p.m.
ENGR 209

Tom Jensen, Chair
Linda Jones, Secretary
Minutes Status: Approved


Officers: Jensen, Riggs, Jones, Rogers, Thomas, Brady

Senators (elected): Allison, Comfort, Cornell, Deaton, Dennis, Di Brezzo, Freund, Gay, Gordon, Hanlin, Hall, Hughes, James, Killenbeck, King, Kopp, Kral, Martin, McGee, Miller, Murphy, Popp, Riha, Rom, Rupe, Ryan, Salisbury, Wailes, Waller, Watkins

Senators (admin): Geren, Smith, Shannon, Williams



Senators (elected): Cantrell, Curington, Denny, Elliot, Evans, Farley, Haydar, Lawson, Matlock, Rosenkrans, Sears, Webb, Wilson, Zajicek

Senators (admin): Allen, Atkinson, Bobbitt, Dutton, Greenwood, Saxena, White, Weidmann


I. Call to Order: Tom Jensen, Faculty Senate Chair

Tom Jensen called the meeting to order at 3:32.

II. Approval of Agenda

The following items were amended to the agenda after the final agenda was announced to the faculty:

1) CSCE 5173, Entrepreneurism/eCommerce, was pulled from Old Business.

2) A memorial for Dr. Allen P. McCartney was added to the Announcements section of the agenda.

The agenda was accepted by unanimous consent as amended.

III. Approval of Minutes: April 28, 2004


The minutes of April 28, 2004 were approved.

IV. Reports

A. Provost's Report

The Provost reported on the following:

B. Faculty Senate Chair’s Report

The Faculty Senate Chair reported on the following:

C) Task Force on Faculty Governance

This report was given by Charles Riggs. The Task Force was charged with reviewing campus governance documents. They were asked to make recommendations concerning the manner in which committees and governance were operating on campus. The report is presented below.

Final Report - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/govtaskforcereport.pdf

V. Old Business


VI. New Business

A. Elections

1. Faculty Senate Executive Committee

The following senators were elected to serve on the Faculty Senate Executive Committee:

Neil Allison, John King, Cheryl Murphy, David E. Gay, Timothy Kral

2. Senate Representatives to the Campus Council

The following senators were elected to serve on the Campus Council:

John Rupe, John King, Derek Sears, Joel Freund, Todd Hanlin, Michael Riha, Charles Rosenkrans, Roy Farley, Norm Dennis, Mark Killenbeck, George Denny, David E. Gay, Timothy Kral, Terry Martin, Luti Salisbury, Curt Rom

B. Motion from the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to add Men’s and Women’s Athletics Directors to the Faculty Senate as ex officio, non-voting members.

Discussion took place. This will be voted on during the October Faculty Senate meeting.

C. Consent Agenda

Matters from University Course and Programs Committee and the Graduate Council

1. Course change proposals:

a. Undergraduate Course change proposals (Table A): Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on 8/27/04.

Table A - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/tablea091504.pdf

2. Program change proposals in the Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences, Undergraduate Programs: Table B (Attachments B1-B9). Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on 8/27/04.

Table B - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/tableb091504.pdf
Attachment B1 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb1091504.pdf
Attachment B2 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb2091504.pdf
Attachment B3 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb3091504.pdf
Attachment B4 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb4091504.pdf
Attachment B5 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb5091504.pdf
Attachment B6 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb6091504.pdf
Attachment B7 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb7091504.pdf
Attachment B8 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb8091504.pdf
Attachment B9 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachb9091504.pdf

3. Program change proposals in the College of Education and Health Professions, Undergraduate Program: Table C (Attachment C1). Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on 8/27/04.

Table C - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/tablec091504.pdf
Attachment C1 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachc1091504.pdf

4. Proposed program deletion in the College of Education and Health Professions, Undergraduate Program: Deletion of the BSE degree in Special Education (Table C, Attachment C2). Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on 8/27/04.

(See Table C above)
Attachment C2 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachc2091504.pdf

5. Program change proposal in the College of Engineering, Undergraduate Program (Table D, Attachment D1). Approved by the University Course and Programs Committee on 8/27/04.

Table D - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/tabled091504.pdf
Attachment D1 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attachd191504.pdf

6. Program change proposals for graduate programs: Table E (Attachments E1-E2). Approved by the Graduate Council on 5/20/04 and 8/19/04.

Table E - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/tablee091504.pdf
Attachment E1 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attache1091504.pdf
Attachment E2 - http://www.uark.edu/depts/facsen/facsen2004to2005/attache2091504.pdf

All items approved by unanimous consent.

VII. Announcements

A. Resolution recognizing Fay Jones


Presented by Dean Jeff Shannon. Motion to approve resolution passed.

B. A memorial recognizing Allen McCartney


Presented by Dr. Marvin Kay. A memorial recognizing Dr. McCartney will take place October 9, 1:00 p.m. in Giffels Auditorium. Any memorials you may have can be sent to the Department of Anthropology to be included in a memory book being prepared for the family.

C. Professors Thomas and Jensen will attend the upcoming Board of Trustees meeting.

VIII. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 4:25 p.m.