Section graphic  

Arkansas Archeological Survey

Research Stations

 
News and Current Research
About the Survey
Finance & Administration
Coordinating Office
Registrar
- Forms & Guides
Computer Services Program
Research Stations
Staff Directory
Frequently Asked Questions
   
State Archeologist
Education Program
Publications
Sponsored Research
Related Websites
Home

There are eleven AAS research stations located across the state, eight of which are university-based, and two which are associated with state archeological parks operated by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism. Each university-based station archeologist is responsible for research and public service in a section of the state, and maintains information on sites and projects and curates collections from his or her area. The archeologists at the state parks are responsible for their own research, as well as helping the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism interpret the prehistory and history of their park.

All station archeologists provide a variety of services to the general public, educational institutions, and state and federal agencies. This often involves working with amateur archeologists, identifying artifacts, helping landowners identify archeological remains, providing public lectures, and writing popular books and flyers about Arkansas archeology.

Research Station locations

The eleven AAS research stations consist of:

Parkin Archeological State Park
Dr. Jeffrey M. Mitchem, Station Archeologist
P.O. Box 241
Parkin, AR 72373-0241
(870) 755-2119
Email:
jmitchem1@yahoo.com
Toltec Mounds Archeological State Park
Dr. Elizabeth Horton, Station Archeologist
490 Toltec Mounds Road
Scott, AR 72142-9212
(501) 961-2420
Email: ethorton@uark.edu
University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff
Dr. John H. House, Station Archeologist
P.O. Box 4814, UAPB, Pine Bluff, AR 71601
(870) 535-4509

Email: jhhouse@uark.edu
Bob Scott, Station Assistant
Email: rscottjr@uark.edu
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Jerry Hilliard, Station Research Associate
2475 N. Hatch, Fayetteville, AR 72704
(479) 575-6375
Email: hilliard@uark.edu

University of Arkansas - Winthrop Rockefeller Institute
Dr. Leslie (Skip) Stewart-Abernathy, Station Archeologist
1 Rockefeller Drive, Morrilton, AR 72110
(501) 727-6250 or 1-866-972-7778

Email: sstewartabernathy@uawri.org
Larry Porter, Archeological Assistant
Email:
lporter@uawri.org

Emily Beahm, Archeological Assistant
Email: beahm@uark.edu
 

Arkansas State University, Jonesboro
Dr. Juliet Morrow, Station Archeologist
ASU-Jonesboro, P.O. Box 820, State University, AR 72467
(870) 972-2071
Email: jmwaas@gmail.com

Henderson State University
Dr. Mary Beth Trubitt, Station Archeologist
P.O. Box H-7841, HSU, Arkadelphia, AR 71999-0001
(870) 230-5463
Email: trubitm@hsu.edu

Vanessa Hanvey (HSU), Station Assistant
Email: vhanvey@uark.edu

Southern Arkansas University
Dr. Jamie C. Brandon, Station Archeologist
P.O. Box 9381, Magnolia, AR 71754-9381
(870) 235-4230

Email: jbrando@uark.edu
Carl Drexler (SAU), Station Assistant
Email: cdrexler@uark.edu

University of Arkansas, Monticello
Dr. Jodi Barnes, Station Archeologist
Box 3087, UAM, Monticello, AR 71656-3087
(870) 460-1090

Email: jabarnes@uark.edu
Jessica Howe, Station Assistant
Email: jrh008@uark.edu

Blytheville Aeroplex
Michelle Rathgaber, Station Assistant
Email: mmrathga@uark.edu
2520 Friday Spur, Blytheville, AR 72315
(870) 532-9104

University of Arkansas, Fort Smith
Tim Mulvihill, Station Archeologist
UA Fort Smith Research Station
Echols Building #113E
5210 Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 3649
Fort Smith, AR 72913-3649
(479) 788-7812
Email: Tim.Mulvihill@uark.edu

Home | News | About | State Archeologist | Education | Publications | SRP | RelatedPetroglyphs graphic

Copyright 2014 Arkansas Archeological Survey
http://www.uark.edu/campus-resources/archinfo/stations.html
We welcome your comments.

UAF UA-WRI Parkin Toltec UAPB HSU Blytheville SAU