The Status of Women and Minorities In The Contemporary South


Presented By


The New South Consortium

2005 Conference


 Hosted By


The Diane D. Blair Center

of Southern Politics and Society


The Department of Education



Co-sponsored by the

J. William   Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences

and the

College of Education and Health Professions



Panel Discussion Moderated by

U.S. Senator David Pryor

Dean, Clinton School of Public Service


Friday, October 28, 2005

2:30 P.M.

Alltel Ballroom

Arkansas Student Union

University of Arkansas Campus



The inaugural conference of the New South Consortium will focus on “the Status of Women and Minorities in the New South”, examining a range of policy and business relevant dimensions, including issues such as education reform, standards of living, demographic changes across states and time, employment patterns, and individual level perceptions of economic opportunity.  During our inaugural conference we will develop and coordinate plans to host future meetings on a regular basis to continue providing valuable information for policy and economic leaders.  

Dr. Todd Shields and Dr. Shannon Davis are co-directors of this effort.  Dr. Shields is the Director of the Blair Center , the Chair of the Department of Political Science and has published extensively in the areas of public opinion.  Dr. Davis is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Education Reform, is the Director of the Northwest Arkansas Education Renewal Zone Project and conducts research in the area of education policy.

The New South Consortium

State Survey Directors  

The various state polls sample 700-800 respondents each, which yields survey results with a margin of error of ± 3-4 percent. When polling together, the New South Consortium should generate an impressive sample revealing the opinions of up to 9,000 respondents across the region.

Debra McCallum

The Capstone Poll 

University of Alabama


Janine Parry

The Arkansas Poll

University of Arkansas


Mary Stutzman

Florida Annual Policy Survey

Florida State University


James Bason

The Georgia Poll

University of Georgia


Ron Langley

The Kentucky Survey

University of Kentucky


R. Kirby Goidel

The Annual Louisiana Survey

 Louisiana State University


Steve Shaffer

The Mississippi Poll

Mississippi State University


Robert Stevenson

The Carolina Poll

University of North Carolina , Chapel Hill


Bob Oldendick

Institute for Public Service and Policy Research  

University of South Carolina


Michael Gant

The Tennessee Poll

University of Tennessee


Susan Banducci

Brian Cannon

Earl Survey Research Lab

Texas Tech University


David Urban

VCU Life Sciences Survey

Virginia Commonwealth University





The Blair Center
of Southern Politics and Society
428 Old Main
Fulbright College of Arts & Sciences
University of Arkansas
Fayetteville, Arkansas 72701

Todd Shields, Director